Weight Control Overview

imageThere are so many aspects to weight loss and weight control that you really almost need a post-graduate degree to have any chance of success. So if you are one of the masses who has ever struggled or continues to struggle with your weight please give yourself some respite because I’m guessing for most of you this is not your area of expertise.

I have the philosophy of always looking at myself as a work-in-progress. At heart I am a perfectionist and strive for the best outcome in everything I do, but sometimes the sculpture you are creating takes more time, more education and some hiccups along the way. However, you are worth it and the results are worth it.

Two years ago I was 106 kg and back in 2003 I was out to 112 kg with all kinds of fluctuations and diets in between. I woke every morning with a headache, had high cholesterol levels and slightly elevated blood pressure, skin problems, back problems, and so on. Now I weigh 85 kgs, with no headaches, my back is fine and my skin is still improving. I haven’t had my cholesterol checked again yet but I’m betting there is marked improvement.

I believe body weight is affected by the following:
1. Diet (all consumption including food, drinks, medications and supplements;
2. Exercise – You can live without it for a while but the fact is we are designed to move.
3. Current Metabolic Set Point – I call it this, but other terms are regularly used.
4. Hormones – There are more than people realise that affect our weight – insulin, leptin, grehlin to name a few.
5. Mindset.

The critical thing to note is that we need an wholistic approach that ensures we have a strategy across all five of the above areas because in this complex system that is the human body they all interact. There’s no point on working on any less than the whole five points listed otherwise you are literally doomed to fail which is why so many diets and exercise regimes don’t work.

In coming posts I will go into each of these in more detail. For now however, even though I was being honestly supportive with the earlier work-in-progress comments, it’s time to give up certain excuses that may be holding you back. We’ve all heard (and maybe said) things like:
“It’s just the way I’m built”
“It’s genetic, look at my (father, mother…)”
“I’ve simply got big bones” (possibly my all-time favourite)
“I can’t exercise, I’ve got bad (knees, ankles, hip…)”
“I just don’t have time”
“My hormones are all stuffed up, it’s impossible for me”
“I can’t diet, I hate/can’t eat/am allergic to…”

Sound familiar? Let’s go on a journey of discovery and improve our education, motivation, self-esteem, and life a much healthier life. Watch this space!

76 thoughts on “Weight Control Overview

  1. This design is wicked! You certainly know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own
    blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how
    you presented it. Too cool!

    • No sorry I don’t know about any SEO plug-ins. I just work on keeping my content coming and tagging as many keywords (I’m on WordPress) as I can! Good Luck.

  2. After looking at a few of the articles on your web site, I really appreciate your way of writing a blog.
    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark site list
    and will be checking back in the near future. Please visit my website too
    and tell me your opinion.

  3. Very good blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a
    little lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any suggestions? Thanks!

    • Thank you. I always write from the heart – quite conversationally. I also read far and wide and draw on many life experiences. I looked at several different blog forums but settled on WordPress as it is free, has plenty of options to jazz it up, and is still quite popular. I think it’s your content that is most important. I always thoroughly spell-check and proof-read what I have typed. I think many people are not thorough enough on the Internet. Even some of the comments I receive have some really poor grammar (not yours!) and they are actually difficult to reply to because I cannot make out what the person means! Try not to stress, just take the leap and get started. Good Luck. JP

  4. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was entirely right.
    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent
    for this information! Thanks!

    http://ukonlinebingosites.com/index.php?a=stats&u=edisonmichaud

  5. What i don’t understood is if truth be told how you’re now not actually much more well-liked than you might be now.
    You’re so intelligent. You already know therefore significantly with regards to this topic, produced me personally imagine it from a lot of various angles. Its like women and men don’t
    seem to be involved unless it is something to do with Lady gaga!

    Your own stuffs great. All the time deal with it up!

  6. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could
    add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

    • Thank you. I am fairly new to blogging so I really don’t know much about widgets. It probably pays to dig through the various menus and look for a “help” area on this. Good luck.

  7. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each
    time a comment is added I get three emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Cheers!

  8. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog
    article or vice-versa? My site covers a lot of the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from
    each other. If you are interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

    http://www.kraken.pl/nurk/index.php/U%C5%BCytkownik:KZXKassan

  9. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any
    problems of plagorism or copyright infringement? My website
    has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement. Do you know any techniques to help reduce content from being ripped off? I’d genuinely
    appreciate it.

    http://cooshow.nttu.edu.tw/mediawiki/index.php/%E4%BD%BF%E7%94%A8%E8%80%85:MeghanWal

    • Sorry but I’m not sure. I am fairly new to blogging. I know sometimes people with e-books will make them a locked PDF so they cannot be copied. But in reality, I think anything online is very hard to protect. See if you can research some sort of locking mechanism. Good luck!

Leave a comment